Skip to content

A family party in Lembang

2 October 2011

Today I went to a wedding anniversary party for my colleague Herlina and her husband. It was at a farm about 15 km north of Bandang, near Lembang. There were 10 or 15 families there, I think, and we ate a gigantic variety of wonderful food! Best of all was the grilled fish, which was raised right there on the farm in a big manmade pool.

The last three photos feature durian, the famous beloved fruit of Southeast Asia. This was a special variety, called Suka Bumi durian (after the area it comes from), which is much smaller overall than regular durian. I’ve eaten durian many times, but I’m quite sure this was the most delicious! It really had a different quality, and the flavor was milder and possibly richer.

To read captions, please view the photos on Flickr.

No comments yet

Leave a comment