Skip to content

Leaving Indonesia

4 August 2012

I’m back in the United States now, after living in Bandung, West Java, for 10 months. I have to say I’m happy to be home. I enjoyed many things about my stay in Indonesia, including and especially the people I met there, but it is not an easy place to live in — especially the cities, including Bandung, because of the ever-present traffic jams, overcrowded streets, and lack of public transportation. Sidewalks are poorly maintained, where they exist at all, and so walking is not pleasant.

A returning Fulbrighter must write a lengthy report in an online form. I have started this, but it will take some time to complete it. After that’s done, I’ll come back here and add some thoughts to this blog.

I have updated the > Tips < page here, with new information about the “Exit Permit Only” (EPO) and excess baggage fees on international flights. If you are a new Fulbright Scholar preparing to go to Indonesia, you should read the parts about the KITAS, immigration and police, and luggage fees. If you have any questions, I’d be happy to try to answer them.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 14 August 2012 9:45 am

    Welcome home, Mindy. Looking forward to go back home to SF Bay Area as well.

  2. 9 October 2012 11:22 pm

    Mindy, it’s just so nice read about Indonesia from non-Indonesian. Thanks for the blog, keep traveling and keep writing…

  3. ayankcell permalink
    24 October 2012 4:10 am

    I think many people who leave Indonesia would say ‘Indonesia itu panas dan macet’ however it has a lot of beautifulness.

  4. 24 October 2012 7:38 am

    @ayankcell – Saya kata: Indonesia indah sekali, Indonesia enak sekali … tapi kalau tinggal di Indonesia, mungkin tidak mudah.

Leave a comment