Skip to content

Programs of study at my university in Indonesia

30 June 2011

Things seem to be moving forward on my Fulbright award for September. My medical exams are finally completed, and my counterpart in Indonesia has just sent me some information about the courses I will be teaching.

Let’s see if I can put part of that in Bahasa: Kelas atau kursus yang saya akan mengajar. Classes (kelas) or courses (kursus) that I will be teaching (mengajar).

The information below was translated (by Google) from this page. Sarjana (S1) is the equivalent of a bachelor’s degree in the U.S. A bachelor’s degree in communication studies (ilmu komunikasi) is S. IKom (source). I don’t know for sure, but I think “DIII” might be like what they call a “diploma program” in Malaysia — that is, less than a bachelor’s degree, more like a trade school certificate.

Studies Program at the Faculty of Communication Sciences* (FIKOM) Unpad:

A. D-III Study Program Education Applied Communication Experts (DIII-PAKT)

  • Broadcasting (Accreditation “A”)
  • PR (Accreditation “A”)
  • Advertising (Accreditation “A”)
  • Business Communication (Accreditation “A”)

B. Undergraduate Program (S1)

1. Communication Studies (Accreditation “A”)

  • Department of Journalism
  • Department of Public Relations
  • Department of Management Communication

2. Information and Library Science (Accreditation “A”)

  • Department of Information and Library Science

C. Graduate Program

1. Master Program (S2) (Accreditation “A”)

  • Master in Science Communication (MIK)
  • Master in Public Relations (PR)
  • Masters in Business Communication (Kombis)
  • Master of Information and Library Science (Information Resources) (MIIP)

2. Doctoral Program (S3) (Accreditation “A”)

* Ilmu can mean both science/sciences and study/studies. My college in Malaysia was called Fakulti Komunikasi dan Pengajian Media: Faculty of Communications and Media Studies. Pengajar is a word for teacher in Indonesia, and that’s the closest word I can find in my Indonesian dictionary. In Malaysia, the most common word for science is sains. My college in Indonesia is called Fakultas Ilmu Komunikasi (FIKOM).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 31 July 2011 12:40 am

    “Let’s see if I can put part of that in Bahasa: Kelas atau kursus yang saya akan mengajar. Classes (kelas) or courses (kursus) that I will be teaching (mengajar)”

    it’s all good, “Selamat datang di Indonesia dan di Unpad Ibu”

  2. 31 July 2011 8:44 am

    Terima kasih, Rolando! So how should I address you? (Murid?) In Malaysia I learned to call young men adik — but maybe you don’t have the same custom?

  3. 2 August 2011 11:31 am

    “Adik” is also used in Indonesia. but we more often use “nak” <<<from "Anak" but it all depends on where we are.. because Indonesia has so many local language (and people use local language more often than speak in Bahasa). Because Ibu ( we can't call Ibu with "you're" it means disrespectful attitude here ) was on Bandung, people here use "Sundanese" ( i bet Ibu already know and learn a lot ). "Tanya aku apapun yang Ibu ingin tahu, semoga aku bisa Bantu" Selamat Malam.

Leave a Reply

